GSM encoding

Apr 24, 2013 at 7:40 PM
Hi there,
my name is Thomas and I'm new to the Jamaa discussions.
So far I did some basic implementation of Jamaa to send and receive SMS.
The current challenge I'm facing is an 'unsupported encoding' message for a Deliver_SM.
Within the PDU I receive, the data_encoding octet is set to 'f1' which is a 'GSM message class control 1111xxxx' encoding. How can I habdle this using Jamaa.
Help and/or directions highly appreciated.
Thank you
Thomas
May 5, 2013 at 5:47 PM
Never mind,
figured it out. I successfully integrated a GSM 0.38 encoder into the core lib.
Jun 19, 2013 at 7:38 AM
How did you figured it out please help me. I am facing this issue too.
I am trying to send sms in urdu and arabic language. But they are receiving in the form of random characters, I have tried ASCII, UCS2 format but they are not working.
Please help.
Jun 19, 2013 at 11:39 AM
Good morning,
I don't really know which encoding you need to send in urdu or arabic, this is what you would have to figure out yourself. I'd try to send an SMS from your phone to your receiver and then figure out which encoding they have, so you can reversely identify which encoding you need.
The encoding as such is an octet within the SM_DELIVER part of the PDU. Jamaa SMPP has a class in Smpp.Net.Lib which is called DataCoding and contains most of the possible encoding octets a PDU could contain, but it doesn't support all of them. If I remember correctly, the DataCoding class contains already a GSM_MessageClass_0=0xf0, so the class itself knows about the GSM encoding, but GSM encoding wasn't supported by the library. I also had to add GSM_MessageClass_1=0xf1 as some of my MO messages came with the F1 encoding octet.
So once you identified the encoding needed (means octet) and that encoding is in class DataEncoding, then you just need to do 2 more things: you need to provide the corresponding encoder and you need to make the encoder available in the library.